Egg-Free Pumpkin Pie

I love pumpkin pie. Every fall, I make lots of pumpkin pies – I won’t wait for Thanksgiving. But when we found out about Cookie’s allergy to eggs, I didn’t know what to do. Eggs are sort of a big deal in pumpkin pie. I tried all kinds of allergy-friendly pumpkin pie recipes. Most of them were tolerable but not great. Since Cookie had never had real pumpkin pie, she didn’t know any different. But I did. So for those years I made regular pumpkin pie for everyone and an allergy-friendly pumpkin pie for Cookie. I love to bake but it’s crazy to bake a pie for one tiny child who will maybe eat two or three small pieces total over a few days.

So I started experimenting more and I finally have an egg-free pumpkin pie that tastes right. This recipe started from an allergy-free website and altered it to suit our tastes. I think it works pretty well.

I am using my normal crust – not gluten-free. GF pie dough is a nightmare to work with and I just haven’t taken the time to find one that I really like. Then, on our vacation this year, I found Wheat Montana. I don’t know why exactly but many people – including Cookie – who have gluten sensitivities have no problem with Wheat Montana’s flour. Fortunately I can buy it at my local SuperTarget so that’s what I use. One of these days I’ll share my pie crust recipe and tips for making it come out perfect – both tender and flaky. But today is just about the filling! Here’s how you do it.

1 can pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie filling)
3/4 cup brown sugar
1 1/2 cups whole milk (I prefer whole milk but you can use something else – it might not be as thick and creamy)
6 1/2 Tbsp corn starch
1 tsp. ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp. ground ginger
1/4 tsp. cloves
1/4 tsp. salt
1 pie crust (unbaked)

Preheat your oven to 350. Line a standard 9″ pie pan with your crust and set aside (preferably in the freezer). Combine all your filling ingredients in a medium saucepan and heat over medium heat until it thickens. Stir constantly (it’s only a few minutes). When it’s thickened, pour into your pie shell and bake at 350 until set (30-45 minutes). You can check it with a butter knife – stick it in the middle and if it comes out clean, the pie’s done. Let it cool completely on a wire rack before cutting and serving.

IMG_3899

 

 

 

Pretty simple, right? You’ll never even miss the eggs. This is a great pie even for those who can have eggs but maybe you’ve run out and NEED pumpkin pie. And yes, there is often a NEED for pumpkin pie.

Leave a Reply

