Chicken and Rice Soup

I am always thinking that I want to post recipes – especially gluten-free/allergy-free ones – and I need to get on it. But here’s my problem. The photographs. Let’s be honest – if a blog posting of a recipe doesn’t have pictures, you’re not going to take the time to read the recipe much less make it.

But I am not a good photographer. Even if I decided, “So what? Post the pictures anyway,” I still have another problem. And it’s a very hard one to admit.

My kitchen is always a mess. Always. It’s not like I don’t wash dishes. It seems like there are days that that’s all I do. Yet everytime I turn around, there’s another ginormous pile of dishes needing to be washed.

If all the dishes are done (ha!) and put away, the counter is usually full of art work, homeschool projects, mail, toys I’ve confiscated…the usual. I can’t take pictures of food in that mess. Too much clutter (actually that’s a problem everywhere in my house but that’s a different story).

Today I’ve decided that that’s going to have to change (well, there’s still some clutter but the pictures will be taken anyway). Because I need to share with you my favorite soup. It’s that time of year when I make soup A LOT and try lots of different recipes. But this is my favorite. My stand-by, go-to, fail-safe. It’s a great flexible recipe because you can throw it together fast when it’s 5pm and you need to get something for dinner. But it can also be a great plan-ahead meal too.

It’s also gluten-free and dairy-free because that’s what we do in this house. But if you don’t need to be GF and/or DF, feel free to use other ingredients as noted.

The girls wanted to help with the soup this time. I let Ladybug try her hand at chopping the chicken.

Ladybug chopping chickenThen they took off with the camera and here’s a sample of what I found when I downloaded the pictures.

Silly CookieBut I digress. On with the recipe!

Chicken and Rice Soup

1 medium onion, chopped
2 celery ribs, chopped
2 carrots, peeled and chopped
1 tsp. garlic, minced (about 2 cloves – use more or less to taste)
2 Tbsp butter (or olive oil/avocado oil/coconut oil/spray of nonstick coating)
1/4 cup sweet rice flour (if you don’t need to be GF, you can use the same amount of all purpose flour)
2 cans (about 4 cups) GF chicken broth
2 cups cooked rice
12 oz shredded or chopped, cooked chicken breast (usually about 2 chicken breasts)
1 cup milk (cow, rice, or coconut work well)
2 Tbsp. lemon juice

In a large stockpot, melt the butter (or heat the oil of your choice) over medium-high heat. Saute the onion, celery, and carrots till soft, about 5 minutes. Add the garlic and let it cook for about 30 seconds. Sprinkle in the flour and stir to coat the vegetables. Slowly pour in the chicken broth and stir well.

Add in the cooked chicken and rice and stir well. Reduce the heat to low, cover, and let it simmer for about 15 minutes. Stir occasionally or you’ll end up with burnt rice on the bottom of the pan. (I would guess….I’ve certainly never done that. Ahem.)

Gradually stir in the milk and lemon juice and heat it through. Add salt and pepper, if needed. Enjoy!

Chicken and Rice Soup
The beauty of this recipe is that it works no matter what. I’ve left out each of the vegetables at one time or another (if I happened to be out of one of them), and it’s still delicious. I’ve used canned chicken in a pinch. Typically I put a cup of rice in the rice cooker and start that cooking right before I start chopping the vegetables. By the time I need it for the soup, it’s just finished in the rice cooker.

Quick, easy, pretty economical and healthy too. Plus gluten free and allergy friendly. What more can you ask for?

Leave a Reply

