Stiff Neck?

I just had to share another essential oil story. As you know if you read any of my previous posts, my two-year-old Cookie doesn’t sleep very well. For the last five nights, she’s been going to bed 1 – 1 1/2 hours earlier than normal. Night 1 was pretty good and I was encouraged. Nights 2 and 3 were not so great. Night 4 (night before last), she did pretty well but when she woke up at 5:30am, I knew she up for the day. Unfortunately, I wasn’t quite ready to be awake so I turned on Disney Jr., gave her a sippy cup and her bear and told her to let Mommy take a nap on the couch. She did and when I woke up my other two girls were up too. But I couldn’t move. I had a horribly stiff neck.

I heated my rice pack and wrapped it around my neck. I took Advil. I took hot showers. I had my husband massage my neck/shoulders. Nothing. My neck was stuck to right and I couldn’t really look up (fortunately everyone – except The Big Guy – is shorter than me here at home so I could still see what was going on).

After another rough night last night (mostly due to the literal pain in my neck), my neck was still stiff and painful. Of course I had tried various essential oils yesterday but nothing was working very effectively. So today I determined to research a little more. I found lots of references online to proprietary blends that I don’t own but as I was reading the ingredients in these blends a few oils kept popping up.

I decided to make my own blend just now and I can move my neck – and have no pain (just a little soreness) – for the first time in 24 hours!

Here’s what I did.

Stiff Neck Blend I put about 1 Tbsp of sweet almond oil into my small prep bowl.
5 drops Eucalyptus
5 drops Rosemary
5 drops Wintergreen (I actually intended to do 2 drops but it got away from me)

Then I just started massaging it into my neck and shoulders as far as I could reach. I’m confident that as I continue to massage this oil blend throughout the day that soreness will continue to dissipate. I plan to reapply the oils every 3-4 hours.

Why these three oils?

  • Rosemary contains camphor which is great for improving circulation and is often used for aching muscles.
  • While eucalyptus does not contain camphor, the properties are similar and eucalyptus is also often used for achy muscles, migraines, and rheumatoid arthritis.
  • Wintergreen has a lot of great uses. The reason I chose it for this blend is that it is anodyne which means that is will get rid of pain and induce relaxation. Perfect for stressed and sore muscles!

(Remember you can buy these oils from Spark Naturals and get 10% off using the code plainjane.)

3 thoughts on “Stiff Neck?

  1. I’m a little behind on my blog reading, but I’m so glad I saw this today. Now having gone almost THREE months without a massage (after 5+ years of going every other week without fail), I am a wreck. The pinched nerve in my shoulder is back, the tingling in my right hand and shoulder are back, and I’m in constant pain from aching in my shoulders and neck. I do plan to find a new massage therapist here eventually, but I just haven’t had the time to get to it yet. So instead I’ve been taking Advil daily, which I don’t like doing. I will be ordering these oils TODAY. Along with lemongrass, which I read online repels bugs. We get little fruit flies (annoying tiny little gnat-like bugs) in the kitchen here and spiders in the basement, and supposedly it keeps them all away. Will let you know how that experiment goes. Also, I’m glad to hear you’ve had some success with putting the little one down earlier for bed. Even if she wakes up early, I’d encourage you to keep at it. Because hopefully her overall hours of sleep per night is increasing, which is great. And when she’s no longer chronically sleep deprived you can experiment with pushing the bedtime back by 15 minutes at a time. Keep me updated on how it’s going!

  2. I haven’t tried Lemongrass for fruit flies though I don’t really have that problem here. But I do know that peppermint works pretty well for mice and spiders. I’ll be anxious to hear how Lemongrass works since it’s one that I really love. The experiment with bedtime is going ok. We’ve even had a few nights where she’s slept all night. So I think we’re heading in the right direction.

    • The week we moved in the flies were really driving me nuts, but I was told it was the tail end of their season. They’ve since disappeared, but I will be prepared for them come next summer! Meanwhile I’ll try it out on the whispy, long-legged spiders we get in the basement. Gross. I’m so excited to hear that she’s slept through the night a couple of times. Woot woot!

Leave a Reply

