Allergy Friendly Oven Pancakes

I have been asked to post some recipes. I am happy to do so because I actually like to cook but I must throw out my disclaimer that the recipes aren’t totally mine. I wish I was creative in the kitchen (or anywhere else) but I’m not. But I can cook and do tweak things here and there to suit our taste or to make food safe for everyone in my family. I will endeavor to give credit where credit is due whenever I do post a recipe.

One of the most popular meals in my house is “Breakfast for Dinner.” Our favorite is buckwheat pancakes but oven pancakes are a close second.

I love oven pancakes mostly because they’re so much faster than the griddle. Just mix it up and plop it in the oven. Done and done.

I found this recipe on Pinterest and I have played with it a bit to make it allergy-friendly for my house. It’s from Lynn’s Kitchen Adventures (go check her site, it’s awesome).

Here we go…Allergy-Free Oven Pancake

1/2 cup applesauce (you could also use egg replacer or flax for 2 eggs)
4 Tbsp butter, melted (I use Earth’s Balance for dairy free)
2 cups rice milk + 2 Tbsp lemon juice
2 Tbsp sugar
3/4 cup superfine brown rice flour
3/4 cup sorghum flour
1/2 cup potato starch
1/3 cup tapioca starch
1/4 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp xanthan gum
1/2 tsp cinnamon (opt)

Preheat oven to 375. Grease a jelly roll pan (mine was 10×15).

Whisk together the applesauce, butter (Earth’s Balance), and soured milk. Stir in dry ingredients till blended. Batter will still be lumpy. Let the batter sit for 5 minutes. Pour and spread batter into prepared pan and bake for 12-15 minutes. Serve with maple or fruit syrup. Yum!

Oven pancakes

I ran upstairs to get the camera to take a picture of the pancakes on the plate and by the time I came back down, The Big Guy was already on his second helping. So the plate is a bit of a mess. I’ll do better next time…I promise!

These are really delicious. You can use any type of milk that works for you – almond, coconut, rice, cow…. I’m also thinking about trying it with melted coconut oil instead of butter/Earth’s Balance. If I do, I’ll let you know how it turns out. In the meantime, make these! You’ll be glad you did.

Leave a Reply

